Blether - The book review site
Search Blether


Advanced Search
 

Home
Book reviews
Our reviewers
About us
Contact Blether

 

 
  

Trouble in the Forest: A Bright Winter Sun
by Trystam Kith

Category: Fiction / Horror
0 pages; ISBN: 1594142254

Rating: 10/10  (Ratings explained)
Reviewer: Harriet Klausner

Review

Trouble in the Forest: A Bright Winter Sun
Trystam Kith
Five Star, Dec 2004, $25.95, 321 pp.
ISBN: 1594142254

While King Richard fights in the Crusades, Prince John watches over England with a loving passion that his brother never felt. He knows what lurks in Sherwood Forest and with the help of the Sheriff of Nottingham hopes to root out the evil. Robin Hood the vampire and his minions control Sherwood Forest forcing people heading to Nottingham to travel in groups or become a member of the undead.

John comes to Nottingham for the All Saint’s Eve Fair; he brings with him a book that might help in his battle with the vampire horde. The Sheriff understands how evil Robin and his flock are having fought vampires as a priest in the Holy Land. After he lost his faith, he became sheriff but kept his vows though he no longer believes in God. He feels that he must and can defeat these monsters before they overrun England. The Sheriff sets a trap to catch the vampires, but the plan fails as Hood and his not so merry men prove powerful adversaries; John turns to otherworldly creatures as a last Hail Mary effort.

This compelling dark fantasy will appeal to readers of Chelsea Quinn Yarbro and P.N Elrod. Using a well known legend as the basis of the story, Trystam Kith twists the Robin Hood saga on its head through changing the motives of the key characters. John is a caring ruler who stays at home to protect his England rather than seeking the glory of a Holy War overseas like Richard did. He uses magick to try to defeat Hood and his minions of darkness and makes the legend of Prince John into a solid vampire tale.

Harriet Klausner

 

Buy Trouble in the Forest: A Bright Winter Sun at amazon.com

 
 

Copyright & Disclaimer
weblog
  

 
Top 

blether.com
© 2000 Champion Internet
Champion Internet