Blether - The book review site
Search Blether


Advanced Search
 

Home
Book reviews
Our reviewers
About us
Contact Blether

 

 
  

The Firebird’s Vengeance
by Sarah Zettel

Category: Fiction / Fantasy
0 pages; ISBN: 0765308126

Rating: 10/10  (Ratings explained)
Reviewer: Harriet Klausner

Review

The Firebird’s Vengeance
Sarah Zettel
Tor, August 2004, $27.95, 416 pp.
ISBN 0765308126

The Nine Elders of Hung-Tse called their guardian the Firebird to help them when their enemy Isavalta threatened to invade their kingdom. The Empress Medeoan using powerful magic managed to cage the Firebird for thirty years but upon her death the spell broke freeing the Firebird. The angry guardian vowed vengeance on both kingdoms. He flew to Hung-Tse and killed the nine elders, plunging the country into anarchy; in Isavalta, he took away the fire.

Bridget Lederle, who once lived in Boyfield, Wisconsin crossed over through a magical portal to live in Isavalta where she is a powerful sorceress and part of the Emperor’s court. The daughter she thought had died is very much alive and Bridget is determined to find her not realizing that both of them are pawns in a scheme to free a nation from Isavalta’s rule.

THE FIREBIRD’S VENGEANCE is a beautiful fantasy starring a beautiful sorceress, a handsome mage and an evil wizard who threatens to destroy them all including his own daughter. Readers will empathize with Bridget who searches two worlds to find her daughter. Fans will adore nonagenarian Anna who has the wisdom and goodness that few mortals possess. Sarah Zettel is an outstanding author whose latest work will appeal to fans of Mercedes Lackey and Andre Norton.

Harriet Klausner

 

Buy The Firebird’s Vengeance at amazon.com

 
 

Copyright & Disclaimer
weblog
  

 
Top 

blether.com
© 2000 Champion Internet
Champion Internet