Blether - The book review site
Search Blether


Advanced Search
 

Home
Book reviews
Our reviewers
About us
Contact Blether

 

 
  

Acorna’s Triumph
by Anne McCaffrey & Elizabeth Ann Scarborough

Category: Fiction / Fantasy
326 pages; ISBN: 0380979004

Rating: 9/10  (Ratings explained)
Reviewer: Harriet Klausner

Review

Acorna’s Triumph
Anne McCaffrey & Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
Eos, March 2004, $24.95, 326 pp.
ISBN 0380979004

The Ancestral Hosts are near immortal shapeshifters, who rescued the Ancestors (unicorns) from earth because they were hunted to near extinction by humans who wanted their magical healing horn. The hosts mixed their DNA with that of the Ancestors leading to the creation of the Linyaari race. They made their home on Vhiliinyar until the insectoid race known as the Khleevi destroyed their home world. Acorna, who as a baby was found and raised by three space miners, finally is reunited with her people and meets her lifemate Aari.

Together they help to rebuild and terraform Vhiliinyar but below the surface of the planet they find a room meant for time traveling. Aari becomes lost in time and space and when he returns he is different and Acorna keeps her distance from him. After rescuing a previously unknown sentient race, Acorna begins to believe that Aari is really an Ancestor host that he traveled with and the real Aari is trapped on Vhiliinyar in the past during a Khleevi attack. A rescue mission is mounted but will they be in time to rescue Aari before the Khleevi torture him once again.

The Acorna novels are great space opera filled with non-stop action and enough romance to appeal to fans of that genre. Fans of Star Trek, Star Wars and Lost in Space will find ACORNA’S TRIUMPH a wondrous delight and a fitting end to this breathtaking series. Readers who liked this book will want to read the previous six works in this series starting with the aptly named ACORNA.

Harriet Klausner

 

Buy Acorna’s Triumph at amazon.com

 
 

Copyright & Disclaimer
weblog
  

 
Top 

blether.com
© 2000 Champion Internet
Champion Internet