Blether - The book review site
Search Blether


Advanced Search
 

Home
Book reviews
Our reviewers
About us
Contact Blether

 

 
  

Requiem for the Sun
by Elizabeth Haydon

Category: Fiction / Fantasy
480 pages; ISBN: 0312878842

Rating: 9/10  (Ratings explained)
Reviewer: Harriet Klausner

Review

After all the battles, adventures and trials Rhapsody the singer, Achmed the Firbolg king, and Grunthor his Sergeant-Major have gone through, they are now at peace with themselves and the world around them. Achmed and Grunthor are rebuilding the once mighty civilization in the ruins of Ylorc. Rhapsody and her husband Ashe, who is part human and part dragon, are the titular rulers of the loosely federated Cymrian Alliance. None of them see trouble coming but it is out there waiting to ambush them.

In a time long ago in a place that no longer exists, Rhapsody pledged her love to the seneschal Michael to prevent him from harming innocents. Now he has come back for her and has taken her against her will, leaving it up to her husband and her two friends to rescue her, if they can.

This sequel to the Rhapsody trilogy is epic fantasy in the tradition of Tolkien and Terry Brooks. It also sets the stage for future works set in this fantasy world dealing with the Cymrian Alliance and the disintegration of the Sorbold Empire. REQUIEM FOR THE SUN is filled with romance, sword and sorcery battles, and political upheaval in a world that briefly knew peace. Elizabeth Haydon is a master storyteller who has cross-genre appeal.

Harriet Klausner

 

Buy Requiem for the Sun at amazon.com

 
 

Copyright & Disclaimer
weblog
  

 
Top 

blether.com
© 2000 Champion Internet
Champion Internet