Blether - The book review site
Search Blether

Advanced Search

Book reviews
Our reviewers
About us
Contact Blether



Reunion At Mossy Creek
by Deborah Smith & Sandra Chastain Donna Ball, Debra Dixon, Nancy Knight, & Virginia Ellis

Category: Fiction / General
400 pages; ISBN: 0967303532

Rating: 9/10  (Ratings explained)
Reviewer: Harriet Klausner


With the twenty-year reunion at Mossy Creek, Georgia coming soon, Creekites wonder who burned down the town’s high school back then that has forced locals to attend nearby rival Bigelow High School? Apparently the arsonist is taunting the Creekites by having sent to the town the ten cent fortune telling machine used during that homecoming day when the fire changed so many lives.

Though not even born yet, wallflower Josie McClure knows the impact of the fire because her mother was the homecoming queen who never celebrated her victory and forced her to compete for the Bigelow High School Homecoming Day Queen, which she humiliatingly lost. Rainey Ann Cecil thinks back to that fatal day in 1981 when she was twelve and with Robert Walker and Hank Blackshear believed they caused the fire. Amos Royden is now the sheriff and would like to solve the case that his now deceased father always felt blemished his law enforcement record. Other are impacted by either the fire or the upcoming reunion. Will the reunion complete the destruction of the Creekites or refurbish the civil pride of being a Creekite?

Written as a series of vignettes tied together through the reunion, the story line is humorous and sad focusing on how a pivotal event can change lives forever. Though an ensemble, the characters come across as genuine leaving readers to understand their pain, loneliness, and their need to belong. Fans will enjoy tremendously REUNION AT MOSSY CREEK and want to read the previous slice of small town southern living, MOSSY CREEK. Both novels colorfully and cleverly illustrate small town southern living.

Harriet Klausner


Buy Reunion At Mossy Creek at


Copyright & Disclaimer

© 2000 Champion Internet
Champion Internet